I recently decided to retire from writing books because I realized that if you are a writer you are also a seller. And I don’t like selling. I still write an occasional blog post from time to time.  So many of the things that I have done have been either to make money or become famous. And I also realize those are not good motivations for me personally.  One of the most misquoted Bible verses is:

10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs. 1 Timothy 6:10 (NIV)

A lot of people quote it as: money is the root of all evil. But there is a difference. It is the love of money that is the root of all evil.  I believe this is placing money above relationships with people, but most especially our relationship with God. And today it seems a constant push to make things into a money-making pursuit.

Not everyone should be in business for themselves. Business is difficult and takes a lot of motivation and work.  If you are in business great! This post is not addressed to you.  I am speaking more to people like me with low-motivation and who don’t really have any business in business. (Speaking for myself here.) If you are in business you probably like it. I don’t like business. I find it extremely boring.  My husband on the other hand loves business.

I think it helps to have a good motivation as to why you are doing something.  I think providing for yourself and family is a good motivation. Most of the things I have done were really hobbies such as: making bibs, making soap, writing, making videos, etc.  I had dreams of making money off of them, but then doing those things lost their sparkle.  Somehow attaching money to them made them into an obligation.

But what I realized is that my life is good the way it is now. I don’t need to make more money! I need to do a better job of managing what I have and do my hobbies for a creative outlet and for fun.  I do want to make a difference in the world, which sounds so cliche.  But I am making a difference to my family and friends around me.  I try to be kind and generous.  I am not perfect, but I am growing.

