For the first half of my life my goal was to be beautiful. I got the message over the years that certain things are good and other things are bad.  Being overweight was equated as being bad.  Being thin was good.

The most important lesson I have learned is that I need to love and accept myself regardless of how I look.

A balance life is a good life.  It is a life that functions well. It is a healthy life!  My life has been out of balance.  When I am in the dieting / exercise mode I go to the extremes.  That’s not healthy. I count every calorie.  I am hungry.  I work out too much.

Today my goal is balance.  My goal is to follow God and His Spirit for what HE wants me to do in all things…in all areas of my life.  I know that without His help I can not balance myself.  I have tried!  I need grace.

I am perhaps at the other end of the extreme of not exercising that much and not watching what I eat.  But I believe, hope, and pray that God helps me achieve balance here. Worrying about all this means I am consumed with it.  I do not want to be consumed with myself, my weight, how I look, what I eat, and how much I exercise.

There must be balance.  I believe there is.  I am looking to find it.  What matters is what is inside my heart first and foremost.  What matters is that I love other people as I love myself.  I must love me to love other people.  You can’t love others well if you don’t love yourself.

