“When you stop doing things for fun you might as well be dead.”

― Ernest Hemingway

Maybe a lot of people don’t have the luxury of doing things just for the fun of it.  I realized that what I have is a lot of hobbies. I don’t always have to turn something I love into a money making racket.  I can just do it for the fun of it.

If you are struggling to make ends meet than by all means do what is ethically necessary to put food on the table. But even here you can carve out an hour a day to do something creative and personally interesting.  Something just for the fun of it.

Speaking for myself as the creative, wide-eyed artist who always had it in the back of her head that she would be “discovered” someday, I thought in order to turn my love for art into a ligitment pursuit I had to monetize it.

Then I realized that I am not a business woman.  And I don’t really want to be one. I could be if I worked really hard.  But I don’t have a desire to.  If you don’t have the desire mustering the motivation will be a task.

The other thing I am prone to do is “monkey” the behavior of others.  I get sucked into the latest internet trends such as I need a hot youtube channel or I need to be a top blogger.  The lure of the glories of fame and money overtake me.

Why? What is the point?  I can’t do what other people are doing.  I need to be my unique, original self. Right?

I hope no one is ever that impressed with me.  I’m just me.  I’m just a wandering, lonely artist who shouts at the ocean.  I hope that I never get overly impressed with myself either.

I hope that I just one day jump into the creative flow and surf its waves to a happier, loving and accepting place.  A place where out of my soul flows the glory of the Grand Creator and that He is well-pleased with my handiwork.

