I grew up in an extremely conservative Christian home.  I have been doing a lot of soul searching in recent years.  I am 43.  I have been growing and soaking up books and knowledge.

I love to think.  Today I was thinking that what if the so-called fine line between the secular and sacred was actually an over lap.  Let me explain.

I grew up thinking this is good and that is bad.  Very black and white thinking.  This is a Christian song and that is a sex, drugs, and rock and roll song.  My parents shunned the listening of anything but Christian music.  I did listen to my share of 80’s music.

But a few years ago God actually spoke to me directly through a Taylor Dane song.  I was absolutely floored.  I never knew God could do that, but on second thought He is God…He can do whatever the blood well He pleases!

I put God in a box and I put the secular and sacred in a box as well.  We love to put things into catagories to make us feel better that we know where everything is and how exactly it fits together!

What if it is God’s plan for things to seemlessly flow together?  What if God wants us to mingle not merely in our comfortable pews, but in everyday life with everyday people?

What if He speaks to us through the television, media, or even MTV?  Wouldn’t that be wild?

I know some people won’t agree with these ideas and that is perfectly okay.  They are just my thoughts.  My questions and observations of the world.

If you don’t pay attention you are certainly not going to see anything.  I want to see God.  I want to hear His voice everywhere and maybe because of this I strangely do.

I still love a good old fashion church that FEELS like a church.  That FEELS like a place  of Holiness.  When you feel the sense of awe like you are standing on Holy ground.

Unfortunately, many seeker friendly churches / evangelical churches want to be hip and trendy and it doesn’t feel that way to me.  But that is fine for their mission.  They are marketing to a specific group of people.  I’m afraid I am digressing again.

Jesus spent a lot of time with regular people.  He didn’t go to church that much. (GASP)  He didn’t sit and debate or argue with fellow Christians or church leaders.  He didn’t try and force people to follow Him.  If they didn’t want to He just moved on.

Everyone has a role to play in the story of life.  Know yourself.  And know your roll.  I am still figuring out my part.  Still wandering around aimlessly.

But I believe that God is bigger than I ever imagined.  And He loves everyone. Unconditionally. I don’t fully understand how He works.  He is messing up my theology!  God is good.  God is love.

And I find He is very much walking around today among us.  You just need to open your eyes and look.  You might even find Him in a bar or something.

*What I mean by hearing God in a secular song is that I felt He was speaking and singing to me through the artist. I did not hear a loud, deep male voice as the voice of God.  I hope that clears it up.  It is easy to have misunderstanding the way we communicate as humans.

