I have given up attending the big conferences marketed to Christian women.  I am not saying they are wrong or bad.

For me, I found myself expecting way too much from them.  I went to meet with God and hear from Him, not really to socialize.

I would leave disappointed.  I would always go thinking something “magical” would happen and I would finally discover my calling and purpose. It never happened.

This would leave me more  in despair than if I would have just stayed home.

But I think I have this problem across the board because my imagination is always greater than reality!

This huge deficit is bound to have great disappointment and disillusionment against the backdrop of reality.

God could sprinkle His angel dust at anytime and do something magical. I still have a little hope. But mostly He doesn’t. And I am left with the mundane.

I just have to make the most of it. I still have a lot to be thankful for. And I thank God He takes care of me even if I am very sad in my heart.

