For as he thinks in his heart, so is he. As one who reckons, he says to you, eat and drink, yet his heart is not with you [but is grudging the cost]. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭23‬:‭7‬ AMP)

Well, initially I wanted to point out a verse in favor of positive affirmations. I think this verse shows that it is important how we think!

But this verse reminded me of my 38th birthday dinner that was uncomfortable for two reasons. Number one because we felt underdressed and number two because my dining companion was begrudging the cost of the meal!

What a horrible way to spend a birthday. How can I enjoy myself when my friend is upset about the cost of the food?

Their attitude is their responsibility and I could have ignored it. I could. But who wants to spend an evening with a person who lost his peace?

I don’t really. We can choose to be happy. We can choose to look at it a different way. We don’t have to spend a lot of money on people everyday but on specially occasions I think we would be best to set the budget aside for a change!

What do you think?

IMG_6227.JPG

